I’m Going, Going, Back, Back…

to Cali, Cali (fornia!).Β 

Yup, just like the Notorious BIG, this past week I too went back to Cali. It was such a great change of pace and weather. I had almost forgotten what the sun felt like without shivering knee deep in snow! There was yoga, relaxing, & a number of great meals that I can’t wait to share.

For now, I’ll keep this update short & sweet by sharing my favorite day of the trip: A shop through the Santa Monica’s Farmers Market followed by a market-inspired lunch & hike in Topanga Canyon. Last summer I became somewhat of a farmers market junkie, so it was so fun to ring in the spring season at Santa Monica’s amazing showing. This was one of the largest farmers markets I’ve ever been to & it was incredible to see such an array of fresh organic produce all at my fingertips!

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

sm

Whew, as you can see, there was quite the bounty to be had. From springtime veggies to bountiful berries (!) to bouquets of perfect flowers, there were all types of springtime delights. Despite our best attempts, we ended up with a substantial haul:

sm

sm

What to do with all these goodies? Mix them up into the perfect market-fresh salad & head for a hike, of course!

sm

The result was a perfect salad of berries, carrots, seeds, kale, sprouts, & oh yes, the perfect California avocado:

sm

This lunch was the perfect fuel to trek through Topanga Canyon, where we found the warmth of the sun & the perfect stillness of nature.

sm

sm

I will always love my Cali adventures– I can’t wait to share a few other discoveries from the week. Stay tuned!

IMG_4898

Leave a Reply

