Inspiration: Romare Bearden

Two “Inspiration” posts in a row?! There really must be something in the air…

Today’s inspiration comes from artist Romare Bearden. Recently, I was shown Bearden’s work in my Literature class. I was floored by his diverse range of work & use of the collage style.

PROFILE/PART I, THE TWENTIES: MECKLENBURG COUNTY, SUNSET LIMITEDRomare Bearden is considered one of the most important African American artists of the 20th century. He worked mainly in modern art, specifically the cubist style with a heavy influence from music & literature (hence why he showed up in class). His work focused on the meaning of community & the African American oral tradition.

OF THE BLUES: CAROLINA SHOUT

"Byzantin Dimension" (1971)

I’m really drawn to Bearden’s use of shape. Usually I find modern art a littleΒ tooΒ abstract & end up appreciating the style based on pure aesthetics alone.

With Bearden’s work, however, I feel that I’m actually able to understand the message & influence of his pieces.

The Thirties Midtown Sunset -Romare Bearden

 Introduction of a Blues Queen (From the Jazz Series)

Art, literature, music… I’m feeling so cultured! If you’re interested in learning more about Bearden & his work, check out the Romare Bearden Foundation.Β Happy art-ing!

Leave a Reply

